• Magical Kiss / Claude Brazeau MPA
  • Love Potion Number Nine / Jason Brown
  • Twilight Dance / Jenny Alston, MPA
  • In Her Realm / Gina Yesnik, MPA

Stand out! Find an accredited photographer.

About PPOC

The Professional Photographers of Canada is a diversified group of creative artists dedicated to the highest standards in professional imaging. We welcome photographers of all genres to join our community of dedicated professionals.

Our Vision

To be Canada’s leader in developing and maintaining the highest level of photographic excellence.

Our Mission

To qualify and support photographers to become industry leaders and to inform the public of the value in hiring an Accredited Professional Photographer.

Our History

PPOC represents a long history and a very bright future in the Canadian creative landscape.

In 1946, commercial and press photographers in Ontario formed an organization which was granted a federal charter and became the Commercial and Press Photographers Association of Canada (CAPPAC). On October 30, 1962, the name was changed to Professional Photographers of Canada Inc. (PPOC) to reflect the nationwide nature of the membership.

On September 22, 1969, delegates representing Provincial Associations drew up a new charter forming the Professional Photographers of Canada 1970 Incorporated. This organization was formed to establish a strong national identity for all those involved in the photographic industry. It was to be implemented by February 1, 1970, and its Federal Council was to consist of five Executive Officers and one voting delegate from each Constituent Association.


The new Federal organization was to:

provide unity;

  • speak for the photographic profession when dealing with legal matters, government agencies, or legislation;
  • share the same rules regulating print show competitions, presentations of merits, awards, and professional recognition;
  • to publish a professional magazine in order to provide national communication to its members.

An annual convention would be held where professional ideas would be exchanged through fellowship and working together toward a common goal.

It was agreed that all Constituent Associations were to continue to conduct their own business independently. All active members of Provincial Associations automatically were to become part of the PPOC organization.

In July 2010, PPOC underwent further changes, as it adopted a standardized set of membership categories throughout its Provincial Associations. The structure of governance was also modified to eliminate the Federal Council, replacing it with a Board of Directors that includes a single voting representative from each of the Regions. This was a precursor to the Unification of all of the Provincial Associations, which took place throughout 2014. PPOC's Regions, as the Provincial Associations are now known, no longer conduct their own business independently, but rather, have joined together to form a single, stronger organization with a common set of Bylaws and logo, policies and goals, as well as shared administrative services.

The vision set out by the original founders of PPOC remains intact, and it is PPOC’s goal as a national organization, to continue to elevate and maintain professional standards and ethics.


Presidential Honour Roll
CAPPAC became PPOC Inc. in 1964. PPOC Inc. became PPOC (1970) Inc.

2014- Tina Weltz, MPA, Elmira, ON
2013-14 Jillian Chateauneuf, MPA, Burnaby, BC
2010-13 Ken Frazer, MPA, Brandon, MB
2008-10 Chris Stambaugh, MPA, SPA, Edmonton, AB
2006-08 Walter Janzen, MPA, SPA, Winnipeg, MB
2004-06 Brent Edwardson, MPA, SPA, Port Coquitlam, BC
2003-04 Michael Jessop, MPA, SPA, Halifax, NS
2001-02 Brian Lee, MPA, London, ON
1999-00 Nelson Simard, MPA, SPA, Woodstock, ON
1997-98 Alain Boily, MPA, Summerside, PE
1995-96 Andrew Simpson, MPA, SPA, Abbotsford, BC
1993-94 Eva Bell, MPA, Toronto, ON
1991-92 Andre Amyot, MPA, Montreal, QC
1989-90 David C. Brown, CPA, SPA, Saskatoon, SK
1987-88 Adrian Price, SPA, Winnipeg, MB
1985-86 Don MacGregor, MPA, SPA, Vancouver, BC
1982-84 Edward Keeling, MPA, SPA, Lethbridge, AB
1981 David Ellis, MPA, Toronto, ON
1979-80 *Hugo Redivo, MPA, Pentiction, BC
1977-78 *Edward Atkinson, SPA, Fredericton, NB
1976 Delmar Rempel, SPA MPA, Saskatoon, SK
1974-75 *Oma Marler, SPA, Abbotsford, BC
1973 *Joe W.H. Stone, SPA, Fredericton, NB
1971-72 *Robert Patchett, MPA, Toronto, ON
1969-70 Walter Cosman, MPA, Toronto, ON
1968 Robert Lansdale, MPA, Etobicoke, ON
1965-67 * Charles Dollack, MPA, Toronto, ON
1962-64 Geoff Fraser, Toronto, ON
1961 * Gilbert Milne, MPA, Toronto, ON
1960 Hugh Robertson, MPA, Toronto, ON
1959 Colin McDonald, Toronto, ON
1958 *Gordon Rice, Toronto, ON
1957 Everett Roseborough, Toronto, ON
1956 *Ken Bell, Toronto, ON
1955 *Brodie Whitelaw, Toronto, ON
1954 *Gilbert Milne, MPA, Toronto, ON
1953 *Herb Knott, Toronto, ON
1951-52 Gerry Keeley, Toronto, ON
1950 *Wallace David, Toronto, ON
1948-49 *John Boyd, MPA, Toronto, ON
1947 *Fred Davis, Toronto, ON

* Deceased.